Thoughts

A New Series for a New Year.

Happy New Year!

new-year-s-eve-ceremony-champagne-sparkling-wine

You may have noticed this, but 2016 was a CRAZY year. And often not in a good way. The hate-filled election, numerous police-related shootings, and terrorist attacks showed us that our country is not nearly as united, safe and progressive as we had hoped and believed.

I believe 2017 is going to be a year of reactions to this. Full of activism and conflict. I hope and believe that we will take what we learned from 2016 and use it to better love and understand each other and create positive change.

Like everyone else, I’ve had many thoughts as our country has navigated these events. I’ve had angry ones, confused ones, sad ones, and happy ones. These next few posts I want to share a few of them with you.

None of these thoughts are new or even particularly profound. They have probably already been said by wiser and more eloquent voices than mine. In fact, I’m writing them down more so for me. For me to get the confusion out of my head and on paper. So that I can better articulate what I am thinking and feeling when asked by someone in person.

But I also believe that God has given each of us a unique perspective and experience that he has called us to share with others. We live in community so that we can see God’s glory and truths in ways we couldn’t on our own. Therefore, I hope that some of the things I write can be an encouragement to you. That maybe it will help you see something in a new light that brings grace and understanding. I also hope you will respond with your thoughts and experiences to help me understand things I haven’t experienced- places I’m ignorant or misunderstanding.

2016 was a wake-up call for all of us to love deeper and seek to understand. This blog series is a way I’m striving to do this, and I would love to hear your thoughts along the way.

Til next week,

Lindsay

 How in 2017 will you love deeper and seek to understand?

Leave a Reply

