Thoughts

It started with a calendar quote.

If you’ve ever prepped for a job interview, attended a Christian college or went to a team building seminar, you’re probably aware of the Strengths Finder assessment. Since I’ve done all 3, I’m aware that my number 1 strength is connectedness. There’s many ways this plays out in people, but for me it means that in everything I do or experience, I try to find a connection, a common thread or meaning in what is happening.

This spring there’s been a number of thoughts and experiences I’ve been mining through in my mind, knowing there’s a connection and nugget to be learned, but still trying to identify that common theme.

Things like:

  • How do I have meaningful relationships in my life?
  • How do I get the life I want?
    • Is this even a good question to ask as a Christian?
  • How do I be a more interesting person?
  • How do I be more grateful?
  • How do I find my purpose?
  • How do I overcome fear?

bloom1As I was thinking on this, I looked up from my desk and there on my wall calendar in a fun swirly font was this simple phrase: “Bloom Where You’re Planted.” And there is was- a cliche, overused term that somehow summed up all the things I’ve been wrestling with, experiencing and learning this spring.

I know what you’re thinking, a phrase on a calendar is always going to be cliche and overused, but for me, it hit me fresh and with so much meaning and seemed to sum up all of these questions and lessons. I want to share with you some of the thoughts I’ve been thinking, and the feelings I’ve been feeling in this season and the actions they’ve led to. I really think we could all use a little more gratitude, intentionality, purpose and bravery in our lives. Will you join me?

For the month of May, each day I’ll post something I’ve learned about these 4 themes and little things I’ve practiced to make them more present in my day-to-day life. Maybe something will resonate and maybe you’ll also be able to see the thread between these themes  and a cheesy calendar quote (and prove I’m not crazy).

See you next week 🙂

Leave a Reply

