Thoughts

Wednesday.

“Maybe, like me, your heart needs to be reminded that this season is not about our holy acts or intentions, but the love and mercy of our Holy God.” -Diane Stone, She Reads Truth

I had a really good day on Wednesday. A co-worker came upstairs and just worked near my work station. It was nice having some companionship. It motivated me to work hard alongside her. When I needed to make a Target run, I used it as an opportunity to grab her and another co worker coffee. Surprise Starbucks is a day changer, let me tell you. A friend texted me about a crazy thing happening in her life that she wanted to process so we set up a call at 5 when I left. A little after that, my friend walked by and we chatted about life and where she’s going in ministry. After a few productive meetings, my mom called and we processed through some wedding and family dilemmas that were going on. As soon as I hung up with her, it was 5:00 and time for the previously planned call. After a great gospel focused conversation, it was time for dinner with Aaron. What a great day!

When I looked back, I realized all the things that brought me joy in my day, all the things that set this day apart from others, were unplanned. They were spontaneous- mom calling, asking my co worker about her ministry, calling my friend, grabbing coffee. And they were all things that I was doing for or with another person.

There’s a lot going around right now about finding your right fit. Finding the job or ministry that fulfills you and fully utilizes your gifts.This is a good thing, but like all good things, I think it can take our focus off the purpose of the gifts God’s given us and the fact that it’s not all about us.

Life isn’t about callings or balance or ministry or goals. That’s hard for me to remember. Life is about loving God and people. Period. All the time.No matter what season, what joy, what sorrow. It’s always about these things and not in a legalistic way, but in a consistent, eternal, foundational way. When you’re life is being rocked by a lot of crap, you can count on the fact that God and people are still most important. Your mission should never change. That may sound boring, but it’s not. My Wednesday was a testimony to it. How you love God and people is different everyday, but it’s always fulfilling and lifegiving. Why? Because it was what you were created to do.

I’m a huge planner. I had a lot of plans for yesterday. Yet all the things that made my day a great day, were spontaneous and others focused. I’m currently in a Bible Study where we are studying the Sabbath. We’re learning that Sabbath is not a legalistic rule, but a gift from God so that we can experience freedom and joy. In my life, I’m realizing Sabbath means less plans and more margin and spontaneity. I worry margin will make me lazy. But Wednesday taught me that creating margin and Sabbath is not leaving the pages of my days empty, it’s just handing the pen to God to write. He will fill it with the right things. Things that honor him and love others. Things that bring me joy.

“If you turn back your foot from the Sabbath, from doing your pleasure on my holy day, and call the Sabbath a delight and the holy day of the LORD honorable; if you honor it, not going your own ways, but seeking your own pleasure, or talking idly; then you will find your joy in the LORD, and I will cause you to ride in triumph on the heights of the land and to feast on the inheritance of your father Jacob.” The mouth of the LORD has spoken. -Isaiah 54:13-14

 

Leave a Reply

