Thoughts

Impressive.

It’s become clear to me that God doesn’t operate on the same currency as me. I think he’ll be impressed by my likeability, my good deeds, my deep thoughts and my achievements. That’s what impresses the people around me. I should know this by now. God doesn’t do anything the way the world does. The way us disobedient pseudo-independent humans do and think about things.

God is not impressed with anything I do. If I do things in an effort to make him notice that’s utterly ridiculous. The things we can do don’t impress him.

I recently read the story of Naaman in 2 Kings 5. He had achieved most all he could in life and when he heard Elisha’s God could heal him, he went to him with all his money and recommendations and accolades. But Elisha wasn’t impressed. God wasn’t impressed. But God still healed him. God healed him because he’s merciful, not because Naaman was great.

We can’t impress God, but that doesn’t mean we can’t get his attention. We just get it because he’s loving. He’s grace-filled. He draws near to us because he wants to. He’s impressed with things we do not because they’re impressive, but because he loves us and that’s the only impressive thing involved. God loves me, not what I do.

If I did nothing impressive with my life he would love me the same as if I did the most impressive things with my life. That’s because his love is based on his character and who he is. The only impressive things we can do in this life are through him because he’s impressive.

“Abide in me, and I in you. As the branch cannot bear fruit by itself, unless it abides in the vine, neither can you, unless you abide in me.” – John 15:4

Leave a Reply

