Thoughts

Dream, Dream, Dream.

I’ve been dreaming a lot lately. I’m often dreaming, but lately it’s been a lot. As I drive home from work I look at the houses, thinking about which one I would like to own. I hear a name and I think about if I’d like to name a baby that. I think of trips I want to take and when and with you. I look on job boards and try and picture myself in these positions. What kind of puppy would I like best? Because I most definitely want a puppy.

dream

But  in all this dreaming, I don’t consider the cost. When I own a house there’s going to be all this work and a huge mortgage.  And don’t even get me started on how much work and money a baby is. Or the trainer baby…a puppy. These things will probably leave me no time or money to travel anyways.

Yet, I dream and imagine them with rose-colored glasses, and am fully aware that I’m doing this. Is this wrong? Am I missing my life now by dreaming of a future that won’t be as blissful as I’m dreaming it is? My life is probably at its “ease and happiness” peak- I have great relationships, a low stress, but fulfilling job, a cheap place to live close to friends and fun attractions, and numerous trips and adventures planned. Based on feedback of those older than me, I’m probably going to look back on it and think, “why was I dreaming of the future, when I had it so good in the moment?!!”

However, when done right, I don’t think dreaming takes away from the present; I think it adds to it. I think it creates a state of joyful expectation. That’s the beauty of dreaming.  We NEED to dream and hope, especially now when we’re young and there’s so much to look forward too.

Does dreaming lead to discontentment? I think it can, and I have to be careful of that. But I also think dreaming gives me hope and lets me live my current life with joy and thankfulness. There’s a lot of bad that will happen in the future, and that’s why we need to focus on the good. We need to focus on the source of all the good and all of His promises.

“Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ! In his great mercy he has given us new birth into a living hope through the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead, 4and into an inheritance that can never perish, spoil or fade. This inheritance is kept in heaven for you, 5who through faith are shielded by God’s power until the coming of the salvation that is ready to be revealed in the last time. 6In all this you greatly rejoice, though now for a little while you may have had to suffer grief in all kinds of trials. 7These have come so that the proven genuineness of your faith—of greater worth than gold, which perishes even though refined by fire—may result in praise, glory and honor when Jesus Christ is revealed. 8Though you have not seen him, you love him; and even though you do not see him now, you believe in him and are filled with an inexpressible and glorious joy, 9for you are receiving the end result of your faith, the salvation of your souls.” -1 Peter 1:3-9

 

We sang this song in high school at a pops concerts- I couldn’t resist posting, since it was playing in my head the whole time I wrote this post.

Leave a Reply

