Thoughts

Goals.

I know we’re already half way through January, but I think I’ve finally decided on my 2013 goals. I think sometimes you need a few days for the goals to sink in- for you to realize even when the excitement wears off, you want your life to change in this small way.

So, here are my big two:

1. Just Do It.  And Do It Again. And Again.

dreams

From thesimplyluxuriouslife.com

I realized that to get where I want to be, I have to start by building healthy habits right now.

  • Wake up on time and get in the Word.
  • Go above and beyond at work.
  • Work out 3 times a week.
  • Stay in 2-3 nights a week.
  • Serve others with my time.
  • Keep a budget.
  • Keep up with this blog 🙂
  • Read a book each month.

I need to stop waiting until I feel like doing these things and just do them, because they are all things that will get me closer to the life I want.

2. Remember the story.

“The most fascinating people in the world are telling great stories with their lives. They know a secret, that God has given them shared agency. The truth is any of us can tell a great story with our lives.” –Donald Miller

stories, life

From pinterest.com

I love stories. I love watching something great play out. This year I want to remind myself daily that my life is a story. When life’s hard, I want to remind myself that’s good. All good stories have conflict. Conflict creates development and thrust the protagonist to the happy ending. It creates plot. It creates excitement and expectation rather than apathy and wasted days.

However, even more than that I need to remember that my life is a part of the story. Life is bigger than me and my ordinary, every day, sometimes boring moments. My life is a part of God’s great story that has been developing for thousands of years.  In my every day experiences he leaves traces and signs of his love for me. At all moments, he’s teaching and challenging me to be more like him. Everyday he’s inviting me on an adventure. Am I watching? Am I reading? In 2013, I want to listen to and live the story he’s writing.

Leave a Reply

